MAPLE LANE COMPLEX

Discover Long Island logo.jpg

Take a look at the 360 Tour that Discover Long Island filmed to show what you’ll see when visiting our Maple Lane Museum Complex! Be sure to click the grid menu in the upper left to open the doors and step inside some of the buildings!

SHS Map Reichert Center Removed.gif

The property began life as the home of our founder, Ann Hallock Currie-Bell. Her home, which was left to the museum in 1964, was the first building the museum owned. From that small beginning, neighboring land to the east was acquired and other buildings were either purchased or donated and moved to the site. Today, eleven buildings arranged on the grounds of the Museum Complex are currently open to the public. They include:

  • The Thomas Moore House - Constructed around 1750 by Samuel Landon, the house received its name because the site was once the location of a house built by Moore.  The Moore House contains displays of pre-industrial artifacts, and illustrates life before that age.  The house is listed on the New York State and National Registers of Historic Places.
     

  • The Long Print Shop & Downs Carriage Shop - Built in 1840, the museum's working print shop is located in this building.  It is the only building not original to Southold Town - it was built in Riverhead.
     

  • The Gagen Blacksmith Shop - Built in 1842, the shop operated continuously for over 100 years before it closed.  Now restored, the shop regularly hosts blacksmith demonstrations.
     

  • The Farm Equipment Shed - This structure houses part of the museum's burgeoning farm equipment collection.
     

  • The Bay View School - Built in 1822, the school was used for over 100 years before it was closed in 1925.  Lovingly restored by the museum, it now once again receives students who participate in the museum's educational programs.
     

  • The Reichert Family Barn - Dating to the 1700's, the Barn was, like many of the buildings located at the Maple Lane site, moved to the museum's property in the 1960's.  The magnificent hand-hewn beams are the backdrop for the museum's collection of sleighs, carriages, and other transportation related collections.  The barn underwent extensive renovations and restoration in 2007.
     

  • The Joseph N. Hallock/Ann Currie-Bell House - Constructed in 1900 for Joseph N. Hallock, the house is a beautiful example of late Victorian architecture.  The house contains much of the work of artist Thomas Currie-Bell (1873-1946), the husband of our founder.  The house is listed on the New York State and National Registers of Historic Places.
     

  • The Bay View Icehouse - Constructed out of brick in 1875, it was originally located on the farm of Edward Mills in Bayview.  It's unique, circular brick building with a conical roof, is unusual for the North Fork.
     

  • The Overton Corncrib - Also dating to about 1875, it was built originally on the farm of Silas Overton in Peconic.

  • The Moore Outhouse – A typical farmers outhouse from the late 19th century, it is original to the Thomas Moore House site. Today it is restored as a working bathroom with modern plumbing.