top of page

Di., 01. Juni

|

„Spionagering von Long Island“

Vortrag über Culper Spy Ring von Bill Bleyer

Der kostenlose virtuelle Vortrag, der von der Southold Historical Society veranstaltet wird, findet am 22. Mai um 11 Uhr statt und wird über Zoom abgehalten. Die Teilnehmer werden gebeten, sich unter https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_1KE3Uy33QU6y0VLDJER-Pg zu registrieren

Registration is Closed
See other events
Vortrag über Culper Spy Ring von Bill Bleyer
Vortrag über Culper Spy Ring von Bill Bleyer

Zeit & Ort

01. Juni 2021, 10:00

„Spionagering von Long Island“

Über die Veranstaltung

Southold, New York

Virtuelle Vorlesung der Southold Historical Society

„Spionagering von Long Island“

22. Mai 2021 um 11 Uhr über Zoom

Die Southold Historical Society freut sich, eine virtuelle Präsentation über „George Washingtons Spionagering auf Long Island“ von Bill Bleyer anbieten zu können.

Möchten Sie mehr über den Spionagering im Unabhängigkeitskrieg erfahren, der zum Erfolg der Kontinentalarmee von George Washington beigetragen hat? Leute wie Robert Townsend und Anna Strong spielten eine wichtige Rolle im Culper Spy Ring aus Long Island. Bill Bleyers PowerPoint-Vortrag „Die wahre Geschichte des Culper-Spionagerings“ trennt Fakten von Fiktion und beschreibt detailliert die geniale Funktionsweise des Geheimdienstnetzwerks, das den Patrioten half, den Krieg zu gewinnen.

Der kostenlose virtuelle Vortrag, der von der Southold Historical Society veranstaltet wird, findet am 22. Mai um 11 Uhr statt und wird über Zoom abgehalten. Die Teilnehmer werden gebeten, sich unter anzumeldenwww.southoldhistoricalsociety.org/eventsoder direkt anhttps://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_1KE3Uy33QU6y0VLDJER-Pg. Registrierte Personen erhalten eine Bestätigungs-E-Mail mit Informationen zur Teilnahme am Webinar.

Bill Bleyer war 33 Jahre lang ein preisgekrönter fester Autor für Newsday, die Tageszeitung von Long Island, bevor er 2014 in den Ruhestand ging, um Bücher zu schreiben und freiberuflich für die Zeitung und Zeitschriften zu arbeiten. Zusammen mit Harrison Hunt ist er Co-Autor von Long Island and the Civil War (The History Press, 2015). Er ist Autor von Sagamore Hill: Theodore Roosevelt's Summer White House (The History Press, 2016); Fire Island Lighthouse: Long Island's Welcome Beacon (The History Press, 2017) und Long Island and the Sea: A Maritime History (The History Press 2019).

Für weitere Informationen zu dieser Veranstaltung oder anderen Gesellschaftsprogrammen rufen Sie bitte (631) 765-5500 an oder senden Sie eine E-Mail an info@southoldhistorical.org.

Diese Veranstaltung teilen

bottom of page

top of page

Tue, Jun 01

|

“Long Island Spy Ring”

Lecture on Culper Spy Ring by Bill Bleyer

The free virtual lecture, hosted by Southold Historical Society, is May 22 at 11am and will be held via Zoom. Attendees are asked to register at https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_1KE3Uy33QU6y0VLDJER-Pg

Registration is Closed
See other events
Lecture on Culper Spy Ring by Bill Bleyer
Lecture on Culper Spy Ring by Bill Bleyer

Time & Location

Jun 01, 2021, 10:00 AM

“Long Island Spy Ring”

About the event

Southold, NY

Southold Historical Society’s Virtual Lecture

“Long Island Spy Ring”

May 22, 2021 at 11am Via Zoom

Southold Historical Society is pleased to offer a virtual presentation about “George Washington’s Long Island Spy Ring” by Bill Bleyer.

Want to learn more about the Revolutionary War spy ring that contributed to the success of George Washington’s Continental Army? People like Robert Townsend and Anna Strong played an important role in the Long Island based Culper Spy Ring. Bill Bleyer’s PowerPoint lecture “The True Story of the Culper Spy Ring” separates facts from fiction and details the ingenious operation of the intelligence network that helped the Patriots win the war.

The free virtual lecture, hosted by Southold Historical Society, is May 22 at 11am and will be held via Zoom. Attendees are asked to register at www.southoldhistoricalsociety.org/events or directly to https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_1KE3Uy33QU6y0VLDJER-Pg. Registrants will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Bill Bleyer was a prizewinning staff writer for Newsday, the Long Island daily newspaper, for thirty-three years before retiring in 2014 to write books and freelance for the newspaper and magazines. He is coauthor, with Harrison Hunt, of Long Island and the Civil War (The History Press, 2015). He is the author of Sagamore Hill: Theodore Roosevelt’s Summer White House (The History Press, 2016); Fire Island Lighthouse: Long Island’s Welcoming Beacon (The History Press, 2017), and Long Island and the Sea: A Maritime History, (The History Press 2019).

For more information on this event or any other society programs, please call (631) 765-5500 or email info@southoldhistorical.org.

Share this event

bottom of page